all our pretty songs

I caught you

leaving my bedroom.

I thought you

whispered a withdrawal

sounding
something like

‘I love you In Bloom’:
as if it were my full name

being
stolen.

I smell you
in silhouettes going cold
below
my pillow: inhale two three
HOLD

Everest-
fresh.

I try to guess
what it is: your scent,
it is a happy accident
breathing crisp
equipment
and

I caught you

leaving:

‘Boy-bird’

you said
in that A-team accent –

‘remake it real.’

And I believe in every word.
Because you steel my name

and say it
without knowing
why
you make me

feel

no
shame.

2 thoughts on “all our pretty songs

  1. I love all your work, Arron, that which I understand and relate to, and that which baffles intrigues tortures and entices me–this is in the former category, a glorious intimate love poem which I will not profane with idle words, except to say, this is the kind of song that should make any woman die happy to hear come whispering out of the darkness at her. And the rhyme…*swoons in a discrete and tasteful way*

Leave a Reply

